Grok 4.6, the latest AI model from SpaceXAI (the company formerly known as xAI), claims a major efficiency win: it needs only half the steps of Claude Opus 5 to complete the same tasks. According to the AA-Briefcase benchmark, Grok 4.6 finished tasks in 53 turns using an average of 500 million tokens, while Claude Opus 5 Max required 103 turns and 2 billion tokens for a similar result.
That difference matters because every turn an AI agent takes—each time it thinks, checks, or corrects itself—costs money. For businesses running agents all day, fewer turns mean fewer tool calls, fewer retries, and less context to carry. But the full picture is more nuanced: Grok 4.6's real cost per task is actually higher than its predecessor, Grok 4.5, and higher than some rivals.
Why Turn Count Matters More Than Benchmark Scores
Benchmark scores like those from Artificial Analysis give a snapshot of model quality, but they don't capture operational efficiency. Grok 4.6 ties with GPT-5.6 Sol at 61 points and sits just one point behind Claude Fable 5 Max. Those scores are close, yet the turn count difference between Grok 4.6 and Claude Opus 5 is stark: 53 versus 103 turns.
In production, turn count directly impacts the bill. Each turn involves API calls, tool invocations, and context window usage. Halving the turns can cut costs significantly, even if the per-token price is similar. This is the difference between paying for what the model promises and paying for what it actually takes to get the job done.
The Hidden Costs of Agentic Workflows
When an AI agent runs for hours, the costs add up in ways that aren't always obvious. Every retry, every self-correction, and every additional context window consumes tokens. Grok 4.6's efficiency in turns suggests it can complete tasks with less back-and-forth, which could translate to lower operational costs for companies deploying agents at scale.
However, efficiency in turns doesn't automatically mean lower costs. The real cost per task for Grok 4.6 is around $0.84, which is worse than Grok 4.5 and also worse than competitors like GPT-5.6 Luna or GLM-5.2. So while Grok 4.6 may take fewer steps, each step might be more expensive.
How Grok 4.6 Compares to Claude Opus 5 and Others
To understand the trade-offs, it helps to compare key metrics across models. The table below summarizes the available data from the AA-Briefcase benchmark and Artificial Analysis rankings.
| Model | Turns (AA-Briefcase) | Tokens (average) | Artificial Analysis Score | Cost per Task (approx.) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grok 4.6 | 53 | 500 million | 61 | $0.84 |
| Claude Opus 5 Max | 103 | 2 billion | 62 | Not disclosed |
| GPT-5.6 Sol | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 61 | Not disclosed |
| Grok 4.5 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Lower than $0.84 |
While Grok 4.6 leads in turn efficiency, its cost per task is higher than Grok 4.5 and some competitors. This suggests that the efficiency gains from fewer turns are offset by higher per-turn costs, possibly due to more expensive tokens or additional overhead. The background to this story is set out in Claude Opus 5.5: The Affordable AI Model Everyone Is Talking. A related thread runs through Claude Opus 5.5: Faster, Cheaper AI With New Safety Limits.
Key Takeaways for Businesses Deploying AI Agents
Before adopting Grok 4.6 for agentic workflows, consider these points:
- Turn efficiency can reduce tool calls and retries, potentially lowering costs for long-running agents.
- Real cost per task is higher than Grok 4.5 and some rivals, so savings aren't guaranteed.
- Benchmark scores are close among top models, making operational metrics more important.
- Grok 4.6 is available in Cursor, Grok Build, the API, OpenRouter, Vercel, and Cloudflare, with double usage included in the first week.
- Evaluate total cost of ownership, not just per-token pricing or benchmark rankings.
The Bottom Line: Efficiency vs. Cost
Grok 4.6's ability to complete tasks in half the turns of Claude Opus 5 is a notable technical achievement. For companies running agents continuously, fewer turns could mean less overhead and faster completion times. But the higher cost per task compared to Grok 4.5 and competitors like GPT-5.6 Luna or GLM-5.2 means the efficiency doesn't necessarily translate to lower bills. Earlier coverage in Ai Video: latest articles shows how the argument developed. A closer look at the same subject appears in Anthropic's Claude Fable 5.1: Most Powerful AI Model Yet, But Capped.
As AI agents become more common in business operations, the metric that matters most is the total cost to complete a task, not just the number of turns or the benchmark score. Grok 4.6 offers a compelling option for scenarios where turn count is the bottleneck, but buyers should weigh the trade-offs carefully. Anyone following the wider picture can start with ChatGPT, Gemini, Grok and Claude All Down: Claude Still Not Recovered. The same theme surfaces in IBM's Open AI Model Delivers 90% Performance at 10% Cost, which takes a different angle.
FAQ
What is the AA-Briefcase benchmark?
AA-Briefcase is a benchmark that measures how AI models perform on tasks by tracking the number of turns and tokens used. It provides insight into efficiency beyond raw accuracy scores.
Why does turn count matter for AI agents?
Each turn an AI agent takes involves API calls, tool usage, and context processing, all of which cost money. Fewer turns generally mean lower operational costs, especially for long-running agents.
Is Grok 4.6 cheaper to run than Claude Opus 5?
Grok 4.6 uses fewer turns and tokens, but its real cost per task is around $0.84, which is higher than Grok 4.5 and some competitors. The total cost depends on the specific workflow and pricing details.
Where can I access Grok 4.6?
Grok 4.6 is available in Cursor, Grok Build, the API, OpenRouter, Vercel, and Cloudflare. The first week includes double usage.